A host of new laws set to take effect on January first has been announced by the Oregon DOT. Most of the changes involve how crashes are reported, but a number of them can significantly impact many Oregon drivers without the need for a car collision.
When crashes do occur, the Oregon DMV now requires a crash report within 72 hours for all crashes in which damages total $2,500 or less. That’s up from $1,500, increased in part to keep up with the rising price of auto repair. The raised threshold will also allow the Oregon Department of Transportation to collect more data on crashes which can help improve the safety of highways and roads. Reports are also required any time a vehicle must be towed from an accident site, any time a driver, passenger, or pedestrian was injured or killed as a result of a crash, or any time damage to property exceeds $2,500.
The rest of the changes include:
- Senate Bill 930, known as the registration card privacy act, now allows vehicle owners to black out any and all addresses on vehicle registration and insurance cards.
- Senate Bill 252 will allow drivers with gambling addictions to be granted a hardship permit to drive to their treatment programs.
- Drivers with a valid Oregon license no longer have to take a separate driving test have their licenses endorsed to drive three-wheeled motorcycles – but only those with a steering wheel instead of handlebars.
- New applicants for Ex-POW vehicle plates will now have to pay a one-time $15 registration fee plus a plate-manufacturing fee. Drivers with current Ex-POW plates as of Jan. 1, 2018 will not be required to pay the new fee.
- The price of Crater Lake license plates has been raised to $15 to help raise funds for the Oregon Community Foundation for projects and maintenance at Crater Lake National Park.
- Many DMV services can now be fulfilled online starting in 2018, including vehicle registration renewals, changes of address, and notices of vehicle sale.